top of page



Hacke Björksten
Ulf Johansson Werre
Hans Backenroth


Three top jazz athletes come together for a truly hard-swinging session, exploring elaborately arranged jazz standards as well as freshly baked originals and select classical music. Swedish-Finnish reed player Hacke Björksten counts as one of the most prominent jazz performers in Scandinavian jazz history, Ulf Johansson Werre is long established as one of Scandinavia's top jazz pianists, trombonists and vocalists, Hans Backenroth has emerged in the footsteps of Ray Brown and NHOP as one of Scandinavia's busiest bassists. All of their supreme qualities are in full evidence the moment they create music together. Just from listening to the first few bars of the opening number, it becomes apparent that among the Swedish elite of jazz virtuosos, these must be, simply, the Top Three. Recommended to all lovers of hard-swinging melodic jazz.

Hacke Björksten, tenor & soprano sax
Ulf Johansson Werre, piano & vocals
Hans Backenroth, bass

Recorded 22-23 October 2012 and mixed by John Högman. Mastered by Tobias Carlsson. Produced by Daniel Lantz.

Official release date: March 23 2015.


1. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
2. After You've Gone
3. The Swan / Le Cygne
4. Tricotism
5. Don't Get Sloppy
6. Yesterdays
7. Badinerie
8. What Is This Thing Called Love

9. Polska Från Gemåla
10. Fine And Dandy
11. Adagio
12. Come Rain Or Come Shine


Total time: 60 mins approx.



bottom of page